This is the "Home" page of the "English 201" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English 201  

Last Updated: Aug 8, 2013 URL: http://dsu.libguides.com/engl201 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Learning Outcomes

By the end of these sessions, you should be able to:

  • Classify articles along a continuum from popular to scholarly
  • Determine best resources to fulfill an information need
  • Understand process by which information is produced following an event and recognize that this process affects the availability of information
  • Recognize the process by which professional literature is produced
  • Assess electronic databases as to whether they contain desired information resources
 

Review Concepts from English 101

Below are topics discussed in English 101. Returned for your pleasure.

 

Research Process

Just like the writing process, research has a process that should be followed when finding information. The steps of the research process are in the files below.

 

Search Techniques

This video presents four different search techniques that can be used when searching databases. Time 7:56

 

Evaluating Resources

Evaluating your sources is the most important thing you can do.

The criteria to evaluate sources include:

  • Accuracy
  • Authority
  • Objectivity
  • Currency
  • Coverage

These criteria are considered more in-depth in the file below.

 

How Information is Produced

How information is produced.

Information doesn't just appear. There is a timeline of where you can find it and a process for how it is produced.

 

Information Timeline

Selecting Databases

Research Database

A "research database" is an electronic resource that is designed to help you find information by providing citations for articles, books, etc. It may provide abstracts (summaries) and  may provide access to the full item (full-text of article, book, etc.).   

Publishers of these databases attempt to select the most useful items to be included -- based on the intended users and their purposes.

  • A periodical index or database is a database that provides access to articles in periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers).  The publisher indexes a group of periodicals that are appropriate for the target audience of the index.

  •  A library catalog is a database that provides access to books, videos, software and other materials that are owned by (or accessible from) a library or group of libraries.  The items in the library are selected to meet typical needs of the library's users.

The library subscribes to a large number of databases each with different materials. When choosing a database to use, you must consider if it has resources related to your:

  • Topic (general/specialized)
  • Level of material (popular/scholarly)
  • Kind of material (article/conference)
  • Time period covered

To help you choose the best database to use, try the Database by Subject Link.

      

    Who can help me?

    Profile Image
    Mary Francis
    Contact Info
    Send Email

    Questions??

    A smile from the Library

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip