This is the "Home" page of the "CSE Citation Style Examples" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CSE Citation Style Examples  

The Council of Science Editors (CSE), formerly known as Council of Biology Editors (CBE), published the 7th edition of the CSE style manual in 2006. This guide provides examples of in-text citation and of citation in a bibliography.
Last Updated: Jan 22, 2013 URL: http://dsu.libguides.com/cse Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction to CSE Citation Style

The CSE citation style is commonly used by biologists. To help you use the CSE style when citing sources, this library guide provides sample citations for books, articles, and other scientific works.

The Council of Science Editors (CSE), formerly known as Council of Biology Editors (CBE), published the 7th edition of the CSE style manual in 2006. A print copy of the CSE Manual is available in the Mundt Library:

Front cover of CSE Style Manual

[CSE] Council of Science Editors. 2006. Scientific style and format: The CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers, 7th ed.  Reston, VA: Council of Science Editors and Rockefeller University Press.
    Location in Library: Reference T 11 .S386 2006

Chapter 29 (pp. 490-575) of the CSE Manual describes two aspects of citation: 1) how to cite within the text of the document and 2) how to create a bibliography of citations.   The first aspect, often referred to as “in-text citation” is covered in section 29-2. Principles for formatting the list of references (i.e., bibliography or end references) are in section 29-3 of the CSE Manual.


Continue below to find two sections:

  1. Examples of citing within the text
  2. Examples of citing in the bibliography
 

Examples of citing within the text

The CSE Manual describes three (3) different systems for citing within the text of the document:

  • citation-sequence,
  • name-year, and
  • citation-name.

See the Manual for a description each system.

  • The examples below show only the name-year system.
  • BEWARE! The Manual favors the citation-name system, so examples in the book usually follow it and will need to be translated into the name-year style.

In the name-year system, in-text references use the author's surname and the publication year. In the examples below, you will first see an example of an in-text citation. It is followed by the citation that would appear in the bibliography (end references).

 

EXAMPLE 1

  • In-text reference:

        Learning to use scientific databases is key to finding the literature of biology (McMillan 2006).

  • End reference:

        McMillan VE. 2006. Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences. 4th ed. Boston: Bedford/St. Martin's.



EXAMPLE 2

  • In-text reference:       
Human interleukin-12/23 monoclonal antibody has been shown to be effective in treating psoriasis. (Krueger et al. 2007).
  • End reference:

Krueger GG, Langley RG, Leonardi C, Yeilding N, Guzzo C, Wang Y, Dooley LT, Lebwohl PH, Lebwohl M. 2007. A human interleukin-12/23 monoclonal antibody for the treatment of psoriasis. N Engl J Med. 356:580-592.



EXAMPLE 3

  • In-text reference:

       Knothe (2006) uses a unique approach to citation analysis.   

  •  End reference:

        Knothe G. 2006. Comparative citation analysis of duplicate or highly related publications. JASIST. 57:1830-1839.


These additional examples of in-text references show how to treat special circumstances.

  •     If the in-text citation is citing two works by the same author:

    (Olson 1992, 1998)

  •     Citing two works by the same author in the same year:

    (Bradford 2001a, 2001b)

  •     Citing two works published in the same year by different authors with the same last name:

    (Rhodes D 2000; Rhodes E 2000)

  •     Citing a work with two authors:

    (McStay and Gordon 2007)

  •     Citing a work with three or more authors:

    (Brown et al. 1999)

  •     Citing authors that are corporations or organizations:

    (NIH 1988)       or     (National Institutes of Health 1988)

  •     Citing a work with no author (use the first few words of the title and an ellipsis):

    (The spinal ...1975)

  •     Citing an undated work:

    (Grassey [date unknown])

 

End references and Examples

End references & examples

  • Below are examples for formatting different kinds of materials as end references.
  • The numbers in each heading, such as 29.3.7, refer to sections within the CSE Manual, so, for additional explanation, go to the designated section of the Manual.



 Journal Articles

  •  Journal article -- print: 29.3.7

   with persons as authors

    Tripp S, London T, Spend DT. 2005. Greeting the protein. J Growth. 10(9):2022-2030.


    with organization as author

    [NIH] National Institutes of Health (US), Task Force on Trauma. 1996. Ending confusion. Trauma Care. 202(2):123-134.


    with more than 10 authors [include first 10 authors, followed by “et al.”]

    Malarta G, Tubbs K, Brighton E, Ballard D, Kali J, Franks BB, Ziegler B, Creighton V, Jenks Q, Peters D, et al. 2007. Investigating Pain. N Eng J Med. 45(1):62-78.

  • Journal article on the internet: 29.3.7.13  

    Add the following elements to the journal citation:

            ... the Internet designation [Internet],
            ... revision dates of the content [updated 2007 Jan 12],
            ... when the item was accessed [cited 2007 Feb 20], and
            ... where the item can be found [Available from: ....].


    If a direct URL to the item is not available, give instructions to the item from the URL as in the Malarta citation below.

    examples:

    Tripp S, London T, Spend DT. 2005. Greeting the protein. J Growth [Internet]. [revised 2006 Dec 1; cited 2007 Feb 20]; 10(9):2022-2030. Available from: http://www.growth.com/2005109/tripp.htm

    [NIH] National Institutes of Health (US), Task Force on Trauma. 1996. Ending confusion. Trauma Care [Internet]. [cited 2007 Feb 20]; 202(2):123-134. Available from: http://www.traumacare.com/reprints/1996/201/2/nihtft.htm

    Malarta G, Tubbs K, Brighton E, Ballard D, Kali J, Franks BB, Ziegler B, Creighton V, Jenks Q, Peters D, et al. 2007. Investigating Pain. N Eng J Med [Internet]. [cited 2007 Feb 20]; 45(1):62-78. Available from: http://nejm.com/pubs/ after clicking on the Year link.

  • Journal article in a library database: see NLM Internet Formats, p. 62 for additional information


Details:

  ...If a URL will lead directly to the article, use the URL in “Available from.”  When there is no direct URL to the item, use the database’s URL such as http://www.proquest.com or http://www.ebsco.com
...Add the document ID or document accession number after the “Available from” URL.
...For more information, see the National Library of Medicine Internet Formats Supplement: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/formats/internet.pdf


with authors


    Tripp S, London T, Spend DT. 2005. Greeting the protein. J Growth. 10(9):2022-2030. In: EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier [Internet]. Birmingham (AL): EBSCO Industries; [cited 2007 Feb 20].  Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=23886517&site=ehost-live; Accession No.: 23886517.

    [NIH] National Institutes of Health (US), Task Force on Trauma. 1996. Ending confusion. Trauma Care. 202(2):123-134. In: PubMed [Internet]. Bethesda (MD): National Library of Medicine (US); [cited 2001 Apr 9]. Available from: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed; PMID: 11286953.

    Malarta G, Tubbs K, Brighton E, Ballard D, Kali J, Franks BB, Ziegler B, Creighton V, Jenks Q, Peters D, et al. 2007. Investigating Pain. N Eng J Med. 45(1):62-78. In: Proquest Research Library [Internet]. Ann Arbor (MI): Proquest-CSA; [cited 2007 Feb 20]. Available from: http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?did=1174260951&sid=1&Fmt=2&clientId=18865
    &RQT=309&VName=PQD; Document ID: 1174260951.


with no author


    Are you poisoning your kid? A new study shows high levels of pesticides in children who don’t eat organic. 2003. Natural Health. 33(5):26. In:  Infotrac/Expanded Academic ASAP [Internet]. [place unknown]: The Gale Group, Inc.; [cited 2007 Feb 20]. Available from: http://web1.infotrac.galegroup.com; Article No.: A104079955.

 

Books

  • Book -- print: 29.3.7.2

                  examples:

    Bennett G. 1962. Management of artificial lakes and ponds. New York (NY): Reinhold Publishing Corporation.

    Dobie J, Moyle JB. 1962. Methods used for investigating productivity of fish-rearing ponds in Minnesota. [St Paul (MN)]: [publisher unknown].

  • Book on the internet

 

  • Book in a research database 

  • Parts of Books & Contributions to Books


Definitions:

... When written or composed by the author or one of the authors of a book, the chapter, section, table, chart, graph, etc. is considered part of a book
... When written by someone other than the author or one of the authors, chapters, sections, tables, etc. are considered contributions to the book

Parts of or contributions to books -- print


part of a book

    Cross TU, Rollins Q, Barnes G, editors. 2000. Dictionary of biological terms. 5th ed. Boston (MA): Dolin Publications. Antacid; p. 9.

    Twindler M. 2002. Drawing conclusions. New York (NY): Brown Pubs. Chapter 12, Logical connections; p. 199-224.
   

contribution to a book

Britt KA. 2006. Hormones. In: Kline E, Frick P, Camp D, editors. Encyclopedia of Science. Boston (MA: Dexter Pub. p. 198-200.

Parts of or contributions to books -- Internet

 

Parts of or contributions to books -- in research database


 contribution examples

    O’Connor D. 2002 Aug 16. Stream pollution. In: Access science: the online encyclopedia of science & technology [Internet]. [place unknown]: McGraw-Hill; c2007; [cited 2007 Feb 20]. Available from: http://www.accessscience.com

   Hartley AM. 2002 Jan 8. Buffers (chemistry). In: Access science: the online encyclopedia of science & technology [Internet]. [place unknown]: McGraw-Hill; c2007; [cited 2007 Feb 20]. Available from: http://www.accessscience.com; DOI 10.1036/1097-8542.098625.

    Uretsky S. 2006. Antacids. In: Gale encyclopedia of medicine [Internet]. 3rd ed. Detroit (MI): Gale; [cited 2007 Feb 20]. p 231-233. Available from Gale Virtual Reference Library; http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/start.do?prodId=GVRL&userGroupName=sdln_dsu; Document No.: CX3451600106.



 part example

    Access science: the online encyclopedia of science & technology [Internet]. c2007. [place unknown]: McGraw-Hill; [cited 2007 Feb 20]. Buffer; [about 1 paragraph]. Available from: http://www.accessscience.com

 


Technical Reports

  •     example:


    Reilly MH. 1979. Equations of powered rocket ascent and orbit trajectory. Washington (DC): Naval Research Laboratory (US). Report No: 8237.

 


Homepages and Websites

  • examples


    MedlinePLUS: Drugs and Supplements [Internet]. 2007. Bethesda (MD): National Library of Medicine (US) and National Institutes of Health (US); [last updated 2007 Jan 31; cited 2007 Feb 20]. Available from: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginformation.html

    PDRHealth [Internet]. c2006. [place unknown]: Thomson Healthcare; [cited 2007 Feb 20]. Available from: http://www.pdrhealth.com/

    Johnson Matthey Co -- calcium carbonate, 12365 -- 6810-00N084326. 1996 Mar 22. In: SIRI/MSDS Index [Internet]. [place unknown]: Vermont Safety Information Resources; [cited 2007 Feb 20]. Available from: http://hazard.com/msds/f2/cgs/cgsrs.html


  • Parts of or Contributions to Websites


   Definitions:

... When written or composed by the author or organization providing the website, it is considered a part
... When written by someone other than the author or organization providing the website, it is considered a contribution


  parts examples

    MedlinePLUS: Drugs and Supplements [Internet]. c2006. Bethesda (MD): National Library of Medicine (US) and National Institutes of Health (US). Antacids (Oral); revised 1996 Jul 18 [cited 2007 Feb 20]. Available from: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginfo/uspdi/202047.html

    PDRHealth [Internet]. c2006. [place unknown]: Thomson Healthcare. Rolaids; [date unknown] [cited 2007 Feb 20]. Available from: http://www.pdrhealth.com/drug_info/otcdrugprofiles/drugs/fgotc216.shtml

 

More examples of CSE style

For more examples, see the Ohio State University Libraries "Council of Scientific Editors (CSE) Style Guide."

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip