This is the "Home" page of the "Faculty/Staff: Tips from the Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Faculty/Staff: Tips from the Library   Tags: faculty, tips  

Provides tips about library resources and services for all staff. Also includes library resources for teaching and research such as copyright, selecting a publisher, and textbook alternatives.
Last Updated: Feb 26, 2014 URL: http://dsu.libguides.com/faculty Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction to Library Tips for Faculty

Use the tabs at the top of the page or the links below to select specific tips about: Tips icon

Author rights

  • why author rights matter
  • what to negotiate with publishers

Basic services

  • course reserves
  • equipment
  • getting publications and other materials
  • how to access research databases

Beginning research

  • video on research databases
  • video on finding specific journals
  • video on interlibrary loan

Copyright Basics

  • copyright tutorials and help  
  • copyright resources

E-books

  • how to find them;
  • how to include them in optional or required course readings;
  • differences among the various e-book platforms

Faculty/Staff Handbook - Library Section

  • link to the official DSU Faculty/Staff Handbook section on the library

Free alternatives to textbooks

  • What to watch out for when selecting course readings
  • Where to find course readings

LyndaCampus database instructions

  • how to set up an account and login to use the tutorials
  • monitoring progress on tutorials
  • getting certificates of completion upon completing a tutorial

Promotion/Tenure and annual evaluation toolbox

  • significance of publication venue - journal evaluation tools
  • significance of your work - citation analysis tools

Selecting a publisher

  • find tools for evaluating journals in order to select one in which to publish

Student Research

Findings from studies of how students conduct research, presented in videos. Includes:

  • Major findings
  • Analysis of research assignment handouts
  • Frustrations of conducting research
  • How students approach research
  • Student use of Wikipedia
  • Students discuss procrastination

 

Faculty/Staff Handbook


Additional information about library services for faculty staff may be found in the Karl E. Mundt Library section of DSU's Faculty/Staff Handbook

Have a question?

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip